Asian pacific islander ERG


Welcome the Year of the Rabbit! 

Lunar New Year is on January 22, 2023, and for many cultures, is celebrated for two weeks. Enjoy some of the events in our community, and keep an eye out for a special celebration hosted by the API ERG and the Lab's Asian Association in early February.

Community events:

Oakland Jack London Square New Year Celebration, Jan. 21, 1 -3 p.m.

Chinese Lunar Year Dragon Boat Experience, Sunday, Jan. 22, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Chinese New Year Parade, San Francisco, Feb. 4, 5-8 p.m.

Lunar New Year Festivities in Oakland, Sunday, Feb. 5, 3-8 p.m.

Other celebrations in the Bay Area 

Mission Statement

The Asian and Pacific Islander Employee Resource Group is committed to:

Vision Statement

We visualize our Lab community as a place in which API members can bring their whole selves to work and be valued and receive support to reach their fullest potential; a diverse community that affirms the contributions of and supports each individual; a community that celebrates each other and stands up for each other. 

2022 Accomplishments

Steering Committee


Executive Sponsor

Inder Monga, Executive Director ESnet, Division Director Scientific Networking 



Contact Information

Contact the API Steering Committee: